SELF-LOVE IS THE BEST LOVE: How I overcame my flaws?

Flaws. Flaws is another word for imperfection, fault – you know anything negative. Imperfection is the opposite word for perfection, and I strongly despise the two. I mean, if we didn’t have societies high expectations strongly imposed on us, would we have such a hard time loving ourselves and accepting who we truly are?

Growing up my parents would constantly tell me how beautiful I am, how precious I am, you know the regular things parents would say to their kids. And, if I’m being completely honest without their continuous loving words it would have been harder for me to find and regain self-love. Much appreciated padres!

Back in 2012, I joined the world of social media and became a participant of some social media sites; the first one I joined was Facebook, which was actively monitored by parents and because of that I decided to no longer use that account and deactivate.Since Facebook was no more for me, so then I joined the band waggon of Instagram (which I still use to this day!) and then I joined Twitter in 2014 and then some of other social media sites later followed.

I wish I didn’t start using social media at a young age because it completely shifted my perspective on myself and how I should be living my life. For instance, I would constantly see girls appear on my feed/timeline and be ‘flawless’ and ‘perfect’ and not having a blemish, a pimple or scars upon their body. And, because of that, I would always question myself on why I didn’t look as pretty as those girls or fit societies standards.

At the age of thirteen, which is a weird age might I add, I would literally stare at myself in the mirror for hours on end and pinpoint my flaws. Why? Because I didn’t look like the girls on the cover of magazines I would read monthly, the girls on social media and even the people I was surrounded with! There was a lot of things I despised about myself; I didn’t like my busy eyebrows (I would always compare them to caterpillars), I wasn’t too fond of my lips and I absolutely did not like my thighs whatsoever!

Until one day I realised enough was enough, I wouldn’t let anyone be so horrible to me, so why would I do it to myself? We only have one body, we are the ones looking after it, so let’s accept ourselves and embrace our ‘flaws’. I’ve grown to love my busy eyebrows, of course, being the only girl in your family to have busy eyebrows does make you different but embrace them!

Even if I wasn’t fond of my appearance, I’ve grown to love myself because if I won’t respect myself, then who would? The exterior doesn’t matter so much, it’s the interior which makes you more intriguing. Don’t change yourself for nobody, be you. Stay you.

Advice from me to you –

  1. It’s easy to be influenced by the things that meet your eyes, don’t let it. You’re more than that, keep being you!
  2. Don’t be so easily brainwashed by the things you see on social media, TV, magazines etc. The amount of photoshop and makeup celebrities go through is absurd. Celebrities are just like us, regular people (whether they’d like to admit to it).
  3. Self – love is the best love that anyone can receive, it’s a great feeling!
  4. Fall in love with yourself more and more with each passing day. Have so much respect for yourself that you automatically reject anyone that doesn’t
  5. Without societies high standards, we would feel 100% comfortable with ourselves. Would insecurities and flaws even exist? Ignore that spot, it’s a part of life.
  6. Embracing your ‘flaws’ and accepting yourself would make your life a lot easier.

Love yourself endlessly.

Atiyyah x

Leave a Reply

