Monthly Reads: March 2016

Books. I love them! You either connect or get attached to a character, it’s amazing. Amazing, how the author can have this much affect on the reader. The amount of books that have brought me to tears – happy, sad, angry and, even frustrated tears. What can I say? I’m a very emotional person!

The books that I’ve managed to indulge in this month is:

Thanks For The Trouble by Tommy Wallach

Thanks For The Trouble is absolutely charming,cynical and magical. My heart ached for Parker Santé, while all his classmate’s plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels filled with prestigious guests. Having a pessimistic mentality will not make you go far, you tend to forget all these wonderful talents that you have, all because you’re pent up your own anger. That’s why I feel for Parker, such an amazing storyteller like you wouldn’t believe! It’s just him, who doesn’t believe in himself. Until he meets Zelda – the silver-haired beauty who is immortal. Immortal? Yep. A kid with no sense of belief in himself meets the immortal silver-haired beauty (it’s  more complicated than that but no spoilers!) what an unusual pair! They both teach each other how to live life and how to let go. Thinking about it now this book is very emotional (I cried a river). I really like this book because it taught me; that it’s okay to bury yourself with your feelings but at some point (preferably soon) you have to let go because, although you feel like you’re stuck in time -unfortunately the world continues to move on whether you like it or not. I am a hopeless romantic, there I said it. That’s probably the reason why I chose this book (it is).

Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

I’ve realised that I take life for granted. Every day, you’ve got a repetitive cycle and in the midst of all of your hectic routine – you may forget what it’s like to live your life fully. Many of the reasons why I chose this book is because; 1- I wanted to develop my understanding of mental illness and health (after reading All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, I wanted to read others perspective of mental illness) 2- As I said before, I take my life for granted, we all do it without realising. It’s natural. But, we have to break this cycle. I wanted to read a book that’ll teach me how to live life to the fullest and truly feel alive! I am happy to say that it has.

Both these books are amazingly wonderful and such good reads, I hope you read these soon! If you have any book recommendations, then please comment below!

Thanks for the read,

Atiyyah x

Want to get to know me more? Here’re my social media! Tumblr Twitter (make sure to tweet/direct message me if you have!)

Leave a Reply

