Monthly reads: February 2016

As a New Year’s Resolution or goal, every month I would read as many books as I can. January was my trial month lol @ me  I hardly completed any of my tasks or if I did it was very half- heartedly. February was the month, the month where I would read books that I would enjoy and voluntarily read again and again until I know the words off by heart (that is yet to happen, I hope so soon!).

The books that I have read this month is:

Every Day by David Levithan

This is such a great read. I definitely know this is a book I will read countless amount of times i’m reading it again aha . I always wanted to know what it’ll be like to be a different person everyday; in this case this is the life for ‘A’. Can you imagine? Waking up everyday in a different body and having no recollection of who you are? You just got to remind yourself to ‘never get too attached’ and ‘avoid being noticed’? Welcome to the life of A. This is all a repetitive cycle until A meets a special someone.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Everything about this book is beautiful and so wonderful, that it wasn’t hard for me to fall in love.Theodore Finch taught me that there is always time for an adventure, be one with nature and that it’s okay to not fit in with the crowd. Finch is a fictional character that has left a mark on me. Sounds weird, right? How could someone so beautiful, mismatched and purposeful be so troubled at the same time? I don’t know but that’s Theodore Finch for you. Finch brought Violet Markey (wait until you read Finch’s nickname for her cute cute) out of a really dark place and helped her be the person she once lost.How ironic, a suicidal boy teaches a girl how to live. This is a book that talks about mental illness and health, now, I don’t know about you but I haven’t read a book that really talks about mental illness and shows that even if you have so and so or affected by this … – you’re still able to rise above it and make something of it.

I love both these books so deeply. If you have any book recommendations, comment down below! I would be very happy to read them (my mind is open to anything!). I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did. Thank you for the read,

Atiyyah x

Catch my last blog post! My Gender Doesn’t Define Me!

Want to get to know me more? Follow me! Tumblr Twitter (dm or tweet me if you’ve followed me!)

  • I know this blog post is uploaded in March whoops! I’ve been super busy with school. Thanks for the read again 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

