My Gender Doesn’t Define Me!

Ever since I was a little girl, I wasn’t able to do certain things I wanted to do because of my gender. It’s a shame really. I could have had so many opportunities and past times that I could have loved and enjoyed. Boys and Girls, do whatever makes your heart happy! Don’t let someone tell you you can’t do this or that because you’re a girl or a boy. Only you can decide what you do!

I remember this so clearly. When I was a younger (I must’ve been 4-7 I think), I asked my mum if I could join a football club and she had the look of confusion on her face and hastily replied with “No! That’s a boys sport” . After she told me that, I was still persistent, I tried everything I could to change her mind. Sadly, I didn’t. I’ve been going to a dance club since the age of three until present day(I guess you can say it’s more of a suitable sport for a girl right?! ummmm), looking at it from my mums perspective I guess she was just being cautious as mums do. The majority of my friends who do physical contact sports have had many injuries, that you don’t wish on anyone. I’m assuming my mum didn’t want that to happen to me thanks mum! .

Even now to this day, I still ask her why didn’t she let me join a football club. She just didn’t want me to get hurt. I don’t blame her of thinking such a stereotypical idea – it happens. It’s 2016, we need to move on from that close minded thinking.

Can you believe it? It’s 2016 and my gender still defines me?! How awful.

Just because I’m a girl, it automatically does’t mean that my favourite colour is pink because, you know what? Colours don’t have genders.Clothes have no gender. Sports have no gender. Make up has no gender. Haircuts have no gender. Let boys be feminine. Let girls be masculine.  Raise boys and girls the same way, let the genders decide what they want to do!  To be honest, it’s easier to be said than done. But, if we show people how we are not going to let our gender define us; then we are half way.

What are your views? How do you let your gender not define you?

Thank you for the read!

Atiyyah x

 

3 thoughts on “My Gender Doesn’t Define Me!

Leave a Reply

