AWARENESS FOR FEMINISM

What’s the first word you think of when you hear feminism? Is it equality? powerful? or man- hater? (I’m hoping it’s not the last one!)

Out of curiosity I’ve asked quite a lot of people their views on feminism and feminists and most of the replies I’ve received is “no, not really, women have the rights to vote don’t they?” or ” no, because I’m male!”. If you have said this before or something similar please continue to read on.

Feminism includes all genders, all races and sexualities; as long as you want both genders to be treated equally and advocate human rights – well hey! count yourself a feminist. Becoming a feminist has opened my mind and my eyes to all  the current affairs. Being a feminist has taught me it is okay to speak up for yourself and express your opinions. I have been educated in so many ways. I’ve learnt so many things that I’ve not learnt at school  thank you internet! it’s just amazing being able to broadcast your views and learn about so many cultures( it’s great!)

I have so many feminist icons and they are people I admire so much. Here’s a few:

  • Malala Yousafzai – I’m sure you guys have heard about this courageous woman! Malala Yousafzai is a Pakistani activist for female education and the youngest-ever Noble Prize laureate. She is mainly known for human rights advocacy for education and for women.
  • Angelina Jolie – She promotes various causes, including conservation, education and women’s rights, and always spending time with refugees and bringing awareness towards them.
  • The Suffragettes – Went to incredible lengths for the ability for women to vote
  • Rowan Blanchard – After reading her essay on her opinion on “white feminism” made me love her even more! If you haven’t read it yet, you can find it on her Instagram.
  •  Amandla Stenberg – Seeing her comment on Kylie Jenner’s post about cultural appropriation brought me to realise how important sticking up for your roots is.

I’m going to end it here but thank you so much for reading and also a massive thank you to Affinity Magazine (http://twitter.com/Affinitylife) for constantly talking about feminism and spreading awareness too; you guys are the reason why I wrote this post thank you! Please read their magazine http://affinityforlifee.com amazing articles 24/7.

Thanks for the read loves. Until next time.                                                                                                                                           Atiyyah xo

What are your views on feminism?

Want to get to know me more? Follow me on my social media! Tumblr Twitter Instagram

Leave a Reply

